Summertime and Dinnertime

Hmmmmm…..

I’ve spent the last two weeks transporting Em and myself [and my momma, that was kind and valiant enough to join us!] to and from Denver for her intensive feeding clinic. It had its ups and downs – but I tell you – she ate! If any of you out there have a child with restricted diets and eating issues, and would be interested in learning some of what we did, please let me know. I’d be happy to share! 

We also got to take her to the Zoo.  She enjoyed the animals for the first 30 seconds, and was then in total and complete awe of the strollers, babies, and curbs/sitting benches to climb and jump off of. 🙂 I took lots of pictures though, because she did SEE the animals, and might be really happy to look back and talk about it later. She has a really great memory, so we’ll see.

I’ve been cleaning my house and trying to get some semblance of normalcy before my foot surgery in < two weeks. Emma has been having a BLAST lately, in absolute heaven. We go outside, she plays in the mud and the kiddie pool. She helps water the flowers and plant new ones. She changes her clothes every 5 minutes. She runs outside to pee in the grass. {Yeah, I know, not the greatest thing} There are underwear and pull-ups all over the house and property right now.  Ha ha ha ha! 

She’s continuing to broaden her vocabulary and language ability, which is wonderful, mostly. It’s when we’re having dinner [or whatever] and she starts screaming at us to “STOP TALKING, BE QUIET!!!” over and over, until we eventually DO shut up that I wonder.  😀

Her play and imagination skills are also vastly improving. No, they still aren’t anywhere close to ‘normal’ or typical… but they do exist, and are rapidly increasing. What more could I ask for? [besides a mute button]

Sunshine is here. We’re all pretty happy…

On a last and final note, food for thought… would you give up your child’s disability? The chance for the same ‘chances’ as any other child? For reaching expectations? For more peace and security????  BUT, would you be willing to give up the incredible uniqueness of your child? The poignant lessons they bring to others? The fact that your child is never forgotten, never leaving a person untouched and unchanged? What would you ‘lose’ if you lost the ISSUE? 

I dont know, I don’t have any answers. I just found myself in a very very strange and confusing place [emotionally] when trying to consider this question.  I couldn’t say one way or the other. Isn’t that WEIRD?????

Any other parents out there that have a non-typical child, how do you feel about this?

7 thoughts on “Summertime and Dinnertime”

  1. Welcome to summer! Thank goodness you’re not in school so you can enjoy it (though in short stints).
    She IS talking so well! I love how every time she would say no, she says “no thank you”, even when it’s a little weird. its so cute.

  2. Your question is a tough one. It really depends on the day, and which kid you’re talking about. I love my kids’ quirks, but maybe if I could pick and choose–like keep the quirkiness but get rid of the meltdowns I would.

  3. i’m new to your blog. your emma is so sweet!
    i understand your wrestling with that question. i try not to think about it (but since you brought it up =) ), i’m w/ Tessa. depends on the day. honestly? today i would be first in line to trade it in.

  4. Clicked over from Both Sides of the Coin. Great post, and good question. It is so hard to answer, isn’t it. I try not to ask it anymore, and just find the enjoyment in my son for who he is, although some days are easier than others!

    Look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

